©2018 Michigan Economic Development Corporation

Michigan Business Success Celebrated

Wednesday, May 26, 2004

Paul Krepps
(517) 335-4590

MEDC Presents 32 Awards in 11 Economic Development Categories

Top Michigan businesses, economic development groups, educators and community leaders were honored at the seventh annual Business Success Celebration held at the Michigan State Capitol Rotunda in Lansing last night.

Don Jakeway, president and CEO of the Michigan Economic Development Corporation, presented 32 awards in 11 categories of economic development excellence. The Michigan Economic Development Foundation sponsored the event.

"These are the businesses and individuals who are helping to make Michigan a magnet state for high-quality companies and highly skilled people," Jakeway said. "Michigan ranks first among the 50 states for the number of new corporate facilities and expansions attracted over the past seven years, and those honored tonight deserve some of the credit. It is a pleasure to recognize the work they all do as partners in Michigan's ongoing economic development success."

Following are the award categories and honorees recognized in each:

  • Tourism: Boyne USA, Grand Mountain Lodge
  • Food Processing: Champion Foods
  • High Technology: Dow Corning Compound Semiconductor Solutions
  • Jobs Retention and Creation: Ford Motor, Wayne Assembly
  • Non-Manufacturing Investment: Hyundai America Technical Center
  • Manufacturing Plant Revitalization: Michigan Seamless Tube

  • Joyce Seitz, Economic Development Coordinator
    City of Madison Heights
  • Sharon Witt, Executive Director
    Southwestern Michigan Economic Growth Alliance

  • Booth Newspapers

  • Largest Private Investment: Plastech Engineered Products

  • Grand Valley State University

  • Peterson Farms Inc.

  • Woodward Technology Corridor SmartZone - TechTown

  • Boji Project, Downtown Lansing
  • Downtown Market Study, City of Jackson

  • Acheson Southside Redevelopment Project, Port Huron

  • City of Boyne City
  • Village of Calumet
  • City of Marshall
  • City of Portland

  • City of Adrian
  • City of Battle Creek
  • City of Brighton
  • City of Buchanan
  • City of Cheboygan
  • City of Davison
  • City of Grand Haven
  • Village of Jonesville
  • Village of Middleville
  • City of Mt. Pleasant
  • City of Norway