©2018 Michigan Economic Development Corporation

Engler Appoints Board for New Michigan Economic Development Corporation

Monday, April 05, 1999

John Truscott
(517) 335-6397

Governor John Engler today announced the makeup of the Board of Directors for the new Michigan Economic Development Corporation. The 17-member Board will oversee the corporation, which is expected to be formed through an interlocal agreement between the state and one or more local economic development groups. The corporation will assume the economic development function from the Michigan Jobs Commission, which will cease to exist that same day. "This corporation will ensure that Michigan has the best structure in place to attract a steady flow of new jobs," Engler said. "This Board, a wonderful cross section of business leaders, local communities and educators, will get this new organization off to a running start." The Board announced today includes: Governor John Engler (general chair); Rick Snyder, Avalon Investments, Inc., Ann Arbor (chair); Elizabeth Chappell, The Chappell Group, Bloomfield Hills (vice chair); David Brandon, Plymouth; Facundo Bravo, Uni-Boring, Inc., Howell; JoAnn Crary, Saginaw Future, Inc., Saginaw; Steve Ewing, Michigan Consolidated Gas Company, Detroit; James Garavaglia, Comerica, Inc., Detroit; James P. Hackett, Steelcase Inc., Grand Rapids; DeWitt Henry, Wayne County, Detroit; Paul Hillegonds, Detroit Renaissance, Detroit; Jeffery Kaczmarek, Oakland County, Pontiac; Birgit Klohs, The Right Place Program, Grand Rapids; David Porteous, Porteous & White, Reed City; Heinz C. Prechter, ASC Inc., Southgate; Dr. Irvin Reid, Wayne State University, Detroit; and Peter Walters, Guardian Industries, Auburn Hills