

CORE COMMUNITIES

In June of 2000, the State of Michigan initiated an effort to spur private development in its urban communities and traditional centers of commerce. The incentives, unique to core communities, target critical needs of older communities through new housing development, redevelopment of obsolete facilities and development of contaminated properties.

The core communities designation provides the community with three economic development tools:

Brownfield Redevelopment Incentives

Core communities have the ability to use brownfield tools not only on contaminated property, but blighted and functionally obsolete sites as well. In addition, the tax increment financing component can pay for demolition, site preparation, public infrastructure and lead and asbestos abatement, as well as environmental remediation.

Neighborhood Enterprise Zones

This program provides property tax incentives for new home construction and home rehabilitation. For new home construction, instead of the full millage rate, the new home

is taxed at half of the statewide average. For rehabilitation projects, the assessment is frozen at pre-improvement levels. Each of these abatements can be approved for six to 15 years. Land is not abated.

Obsolete Property Rehabilitation Exemption

Available only in core communities, this incentive is designed to assist in the redevelopment of contaminated, blighted and functionally obsolete properties. The goal is to convert these underutilized buildings into vibrant commercial and/ or commercial housing opportunities. The incentive offers the community the ability to freeze local property taxes at the predevelopment level for up to 12 years. The developer can also apply to the state treasurer to freeze half of the state education millage for up to six years. Land is not abated.

CONTACT INFORMATION

For more information on core communities and the unique incentives available in those areas, contact the community development manager assigned to your territory or visit www.miplace.org.

QUALIFIED LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS

OBSOLETE PROPERTY REHABILITATION ACT (OPRA) PA 146 OF 2000, AS AMENDED

Section 2(k) of the act gives the qualifications which must be met in order for a local unit to be a qualified local governmental unit. There are separate qualifications for cities, townships and villages.

TOWNSHIPS

Benton Charter Twp. (Berrien County) Bridgeport Twp.

(Saginaw County) Buena Vista Charter Twp.

(Saginaw County)

Genesee Twp.

(Genesee County)

Leoni Twp. (Jackson County)

Mt. Morris Charter Twp.

(Genesee County)

Redford Charter Twp.

(Wayne County)

Royal Oak Charter Twp.

(Oakland County)

VILLAGES

Baldwin Lake County

CITIES

Adrian Albion Allegan

Alma Alpena Ann Arbor Bad Axe Bangor Battle Creek

Bay City Benton Harbor Bessemer Big Rapids Bronson

Buchanan Burton

Cadillac

Caro

Carson City Caspian

Center Line Charlevoix Charlotte Cheboygan Coldwater

Coleman Corunna Crystal Falls Dearborn

Dearborn Heights

Detroit Dowagiac



CITIES continued

Durand Holland Menominee Saginaw East Lansing Houghton Midland St. Ignace Howell Monroe St. Johns Eastpointe Ecorse Inkster Montrose St. Joseph Escanaba Mt. Clemens St. Louis Ionia Ferndale Iron Mountain Mt. Morris Sandusky Flint Iron River Mt. Pleasant Sault Ste. Marie Southfield Frankfort Ironwood Munising Gaastra Muskegon Standish Ishpeming Gaylord Ithaca Muskegon Hts. Stanton Gibraltar Jackson **Niles** Sturgis Gladstone Kalamazoo Norton Shores Tawas City Gladwin Kingsford Norway **Taylor** Grand Haven Lake City Oak Park Three Rivers **Grand Rapids** Lansing Olivet Trenton Grayling Lapeer Omer Traverse City Hamtramck Lincoln Park Vassar Onaway Harbor Beach Wakefield Livonia Owosso Harper Woods Ludington Petoskey Warren Harrison Madison Heights Pinconning Wayne Harrisville Manistee Pontiac West Branch Port Huron White Cloud Hart Manistique Hartford Marine City Portage Whittemore Hastings Marquette Reading Wyandotte Hazel Park Marshall Reed City Wyoming Highland Park River Rouge Ypsilanti Mason Hillsdale Melvindale Rogers City

148 TOTAL QUALIFYING COMMUNITIES

Adopted by the State Tax Commission on October 20, 2020.