

## **UNDERSERVED COUNTIES**

It is the Council's long-term goal to make art and cultural programming and services available to all 83 counties in the State of Michigan. In order to assist in the accomplishment of that, the State of Michigan Arts and Culture Council has identified 43 underserved counties (listed below).

An underserved community is defined as one in which persons may lack access to arts and cultural programming, services or resources due to geography, economic conditions, cultural background, sociopolitical circumstances, disability, age, or other demonstrable factors. The term "community" may refer to a group of persons with common heritage or characteristics, whether or not living in the same place.

Alcona
Alger
Antrim
Arenac
Baraga
Cass
Clare
Clinton
Crawford
Dickinson
Eaton
Gladwin
Gratiot
Hillsdale
Ionia

Kalkaska Keweenaw Lake Lapeer Livingston

losco

Iron

Luce
Manistee
Mecosta
Menominee
Missaukee
Monroe
Montcalm
Montmorency
Newaygo
Oceana
Ogemaw

Roscommon Sanilac Schoolcraft St. Joseph Tuscola Wexford

Presque Isle

Osceola

Oscoda

Otsego